School Social Work

saw

Mission Statements

The mission of school social work is to promote academic success by reducing social, emotional, economic and environmental barriers to learning. (MSSWA SSW Manual)

Our educational mission is to produce human beings who are at home in their place, their environment, their world. (Oscar Kawagley, Stop Talking, Merculief and Roderick 2013) 

Philosophy and Goals

The School Social Work Department recognizes that the student's individual characteristics and the school environment are of primary importance in school performance. The student's family and community also highly influence the way in which the student participates in school. It is imperative that all these facets be addressed. Recognizing this diversity, LKSD School Social Workers provide a variety of services which include but are not limited to the following: 

Individual and group counseling with students
Consultation with parents and school staff
Outreach to communities
Referral and coordination with other agencies
Prevention education in areas of wellness & coping skills, healthy relationships, physical or sexual abuse, substance abuse.

The Goal of the LKSD School Social Work Program is to provide and coordinate a wide variety of counseling, consultation and referral of services to the student, family, school and community. The goal of these services is to facilitate the students receiving the greatest benefit from their school experience.  

Department Overview

The school social work department is staffed by Masters-level itinerant and school-based social workers. Social workers coordinate a wide variety of counseling, consultation and referral of services to the student, family, school and community, as well as crisis intervention and response. 

Staff

Contact

Meghan Crow
Lead Social Worker
 Office: (907) 543-4874
Cell: (907) 545-4429
Meghan_crow@lksd.org
Jim Biela
Tununak, Newtok/Mertarvik, 
Nightmute, Nunapitchuck, Tooksook Bay
(907)545-2039
Jim_biela@lksd.org
Carolyn Iverson
M.E., Ayaprun Elitnaurvik, Mekoryuk
(907) 545-1090
Carolyn_iverson@lksd.org
James Robinson
KLA, Akiuk, Akula, Eek, Quinhagak
(907) 545-3830
James_robinson@lksd.org
Ryan Wheeler
BRHS
(907) 545-0527
Ryan_wheeler@lksd.org
Christian Espinosa
Goodnews Bay (site-based) 
(907) 545-1053
Christian_espinosa@lksd.org
Margaret Maher
Gladys Jung, Kwethluk
(907) 545-0982
Margaret_maher@lksd.org
Lillian Kiunya
Kipnuk, Kongiganak, Platinum
School Community Advocate Liaison
(907) 545_2866
Lillian_kiunya@lksd.org
Jessica Machovec
Tuntutuliak, Atmautluak, Chefornak,
Napaskiak, Oscarville
(907) 545-0971
Jessica_machovec@lksd.org




Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.